Songs For Your Day


El Noi de la Mare by Laura Relyea

I’ve had a lot of great moments in my life, but I can count the number of perfect moments on one hand.

The most perfect moment of my life was in Hawaii. [of course it was, you say].

Let me back track a bit. You need to know that I have never felt completely at home anywhere. So those rare moments where I’m in complete unity with my surroundings are the most cherished ones.

The summer of 2004 l I was fortunate to stay with one of my all-time best friends, Jake, and his parents at their home in Haiku, Hawaii. Not once did I feel transplanted there. It was home from the second I stepped foot off of the plane.

One of those mornings I woke up before everyone else and took a shower (which was outdoors, and their was rain on the breeze that ruffled the shower curtain). I dried off, poured myself some coffee, and went to their swinging front porch bench (pictured to the left). Sitting there, listening to the rain was an overwhelming peace. The deepest breath.

I was so happy I cried.

“El Noi de La Mare” off of the Vicky Cristina Barcelona soundtrack, is the only song in the world that can take me back to that place.

-Laura Celeste


1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I like this so much. Finding a home like that would be nice…

Comment by ce.




Leave a comment